.

Holiday Season Countdown: Chocolate, Cat Herders, Violins and More

A look at other days observed during December besides Christmas. The list includes the religious as well as the wild and wacky.

For  Roseville news and information, _please subscribe to our newletter that  will be sent to your email account_. Also, _like us on Facebook and follow us _on Twitter_

Christmas gets most of the press this time of year. But December is a month full of religious and secular festivals and holidays, along with some wild and wacky days as well.

We already kicked off the month with Eat a Red Apple Day and National Fritters Day. Monday was National Roof Over Your Head Day.

Here’s a reminder of the major holidays this month, along with a collection of the most bizarre holidays gleaned from the corners of the Internet.

We can’t vouch for the authenticity of some of these lesser known observances, but if you need a moment to forget the stress that sometimes comes with the major holidays, there’s got to be a few here to make you smile.

December is Human Rights Month.

Tues., Dec. 4: Santa’s List Day; Wear Brown Shoes Day
Wed., Dec. 5: Bathtub Party Day; Repeal Day—the 21st Amendment ends Prohibition; Ninja Day
Thurs., Dec. 6: St. Nicholas Day; Mitten Tree Day; Put On Your Own Shoes Day; Miners’ Day
Fri., Dec. 7: Pearl Harbor Remembrance; International Civil Aviation Day; Letter Writing Day; National Cotton Candy Day
Sat., Dec. 8: Feast of the Immaculate Conception; Hanukkah begins at sundown; National Brownie Day; Take It In the Ear Day
Sun., Dec. 9: First full day of Hanukkah. This Jewish festival of lights lasts for eight days; Second Sunday of Advent; Christmas Card Day; International Children’s Day; National Pastry Day; Salesperson’s Day; Choral Day
Mon., Dec. 10: Human Rights Day
Tues., Dec. 11: National Noodle Ring Day; Mountain Day
Wed., Dec. 12: Poinsettia Day
Thurs., Dec. 13: Ice Cream Day; Violin Day
Fri., Dec. 14: National Bouillabaisse Day; Monkey Day
Sat., Dec. 15: Bill of Rights Day; National Lemon Cupcake Day; Cat Herders Day
Sun., Dec. 16: Last day of Hanukkah; Third Sunday of Advent; National Chocolate Covered Anything Day
Mon., Dec. 17: Pan American Aviation Day; Wright Brothers Day; National Maple Syrup Day; Underdog Day
Tues., Dec. 18: Bake Cookies Day; National Roast Suckling Pig Day
Wed., Dec. 19: Look for an Evergreen Day; Oatmeal Muffin Day
Thur., Dec. 20: Go Caroling Day; Games Day
Fri., Dec. 21: Winter Solstice, First Day of Winter; Forefather’s Day—celebrating the day Pilgrims landed on Plymouth Rock; Humbug Day; National Flashlight Day; Look on the Bright Side Day; Hamburger Day
Sat., Dec. 22: National Date Nut Bread Day; Haiku Poetry Day
Sun., Dec. 23: Fourth Sunday of Advent; Festivus “For the Rest of Us”; Roots Day
Mon., Dec. 24: Christmas Eve; National Chocolate Day; National Egg Nog Day
Tues., Dec. 25: Christmas—Christian observance of Jesus’ birth; National Pumpkin Pie Day
Wed., Dec. 26: Kwanzaa, which lasts through Jan. 1; Boxing Day; Thank You Note Day; National Whiners Day
Thurs., Dec. 27: Make Cut Out Snowflakes Day; National Fruitcake Day
Fri., Dec. 28: Card Playing Day
Sat., Dec. 29: Pepper Pot Day; Tick Tock Day
Sun., Dec. 30: National Bicarbonate of Soda Day; Bacon Day
Mon., Dec. 31: New Year’s Eve; Unlucky Day; No Interruptions Day



             

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »